Nobel Prize in Physics shared by first woman in 55 years

(CNN)The 2018 Nobel Prize in Physics has been awarded to Arthur Ashkin, and the other half jointly to Gérard Mourou and Donna Strickland “for their groundbreaking inventions in the field of laser physics.”

American physicist Ashkin has been awarded the Nobel Prize for optical tweezers and their application to biological systems, while French physicist Mourou and Canadian physicist Strickland have been awarded the prize for their method of generating high-intensity, ultra-short optical pulses.
Strickland is the first woman in 55 years to be awarded the prize, while 96-year-old Ashkin, becomes the oldest Nobel Laureate.

Add a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *